Review: Blue & Lonesome by Rolling Stones



Recorded across three rapid-fire days during the downtime between tours at British Grove Studios in the London suburb of Richmond with the touring band (and Eric Clapton on two tracks), the Stones show exactly the reason why Mick Jagger & Co. is the greatest rock band on the scene since more than 50 years.
The expertise of being such a big band is well embodied by Jagger, Richards, Watts and Wood playing live 12 covers of monumental history. No digital tricks, just a live session of real blues sound. By stepping on the legendary bluesman’ footprints as Jimmy Reed, Willie Dixon, Eddie Taylor, Little Walter and Howlin’ Wolf, Richards and Woody play with their element, Watts pushs on the rhythm and Jagger is pervaded by an emotional force that raise up the global intensity. Blues is made of impulse, sadness, and pain. This is what you can get from Blue and Lonesome, the band’s first all-covers studio release since the 1964 U.K. EP The Rolling Stones and heir first full- length since 2005’s ‘A Bigger Bang’.

And if from one point of view this record sounds like a swansong, from another point it’s just the sum of a carrier and the tribute to whom have created rock and blues music. Indeed it’s the Stones’ first pure, straight blues record ever.

No other band can touch this point.

Check the tracklist:

  1. ‘Just Your Fool’
  2. ‘Commit A Crime’
  3. ‘Blue And Lonesome’
  4. ‘All Of Your Love’
  5. ‘I Gotta Go’
  6. ‘Everybody Knows About My Good Thing’
  7. ‘Ride ‘Em On Down’
  8. ‘Hate To See You Go’
  9. ‘Hoo Doo Blues’
  10. ‘Little Rain’
  11. ‘Just Like I Treat You’
  12. ‘I Can’t Quit You Baby’