The Desire Effect by Brandon Flowers


Brandon Flowers is back wth a new full lenght production, after his first solo studio album Flamingo in 2009. For the new album named The Desire Effect  out today, via Virgin EMI – the frontman of The Killers features guests appearance from Danielle Haim, Neil Tennant, Ethan Farmer, Bruce Hornsby, Tony Levin, Kenny Arnof, Angel Deradoorian, Joey Waronker, Ronnie Vannucci Jr., Rechtshaid. On top of this, Flowers worked with pop master Ariel Rechtshaid leading the production.

This way, the record is a collection of 80’s drums and synths which in I Can Change touch the pick by sampling Bronski Beat’s Smalltown Boy with a touch of Madonna’s Like A Virgin on the vocals. The album is full of positive quotes from late 80’s that I do love, from Eurythmics to Bronski Beat and everything in the middle. It seems that Flowers has would do something that means a lot to him, at least for the global sound: a kind of OST of his yooth when, same as mine, movies like Flashdance and Footlose tracked the root of an entire generation.

Despite of appearance, the strong pop vintage recalls define the album as an original work that finds its place at the crossroad of synth-indie-pop.
Defintely fresh and stylish, The Desire Effect is a more complete and concrete production, well structured and executed, rather than the previous. One step forward.
Watch first 4 videos/songs out of the full tracklist below.

From your Undercover Agent

01 “Dreams Come True”
02 “Can’t Deny My Love”
03 “I Can Change”
04 “Still Want You”
05 “Between Me And You”
06 “Lonely Town”
07 “Digging Up The Heart”
08 “Never Get You Right”
09 “Untangled Love”
10 “The Way It’s Always Been”